Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Laura Meadows

Blurred image of the arch used as background for stylistic purposes.
EdD, 2013

Laura Meadows retired as the director of the Carl Vinson Institute of Government at the University of Georgia. She assumed this key leadership role in February 2012 after serving as interim director for approximately six months. She joined the Vinson Institute in 2009 as associate director of its training division, which provides professional and leadership development opportunities to thousands of local and state government officials and staff each year.

Meadows came to UGA in 2007 as associate vice president for economic development. Prior to her arrival at UGA, she served as commissioner of the Georgia Department of Community Affairs, executive director of the OneGeorgia Authority, assistant secretary of state for the State of Georgia and state director of the U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development.

Laura earned her master’s of public administration from Brenau University and her B.S. in agriculture from the University of Georgia.

News Featuring Laura Meadows

IHE alumna Laura Meadows (EdD 2013) was among nine women chosen for the inaugural class of the University of Georgia’s Women’s Leadership Fellows Program.

Laura Meadows (EdD 2013) was among 12 graduates honored by the University of Georgia Graduate School with the 2015 Alumni of Distinction Award for achieving exceptional success in their professional careers and in service to their community. The awards were…

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. 

Click Here to Learn More About Giving

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.