Dina Swearngin

EdD, 2015


Dina M. Swearngin, a native of Atlanta and a registered nurse for more than 20 years, currently holds the position of course coordinator for the School of Nursing at Clayton State University. She is also the current chair of the Admission and Progression committee for the School.  Prior to her transition to full-time teaching, she worked in the Neonatal Intensive Care Units at Grady Health System and DeKalb Medical System for a combined 18 years serving as staff nurse, charge nurse, and preceptor.

In 2010, Swearngin was honored by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution as one of Georgia’s top nurses with a nomination for the annual Nursing Excellence Award and in 2013 was a finalist for the Smith Award, the top recognition for faculty at Clayton State.

Swearngin has served her alma mater as a Foundation Board Trustee and as a board member for the alumni association for 15 years. She served as an executive board member for the Clayton State University Alumni Association for 14 years and is a past president of the organization.  She is a member of the National League of Nursing and is the current leadership succession chair and a past president of the Xi Rho Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, the international honors society of nursing. 

She holds a Master of Science in nursing with an emphasis in nursing education from Clayton State University and has been teaching in the classroom and Atlanta acute care agencies for the BSN and RN-BSN programs for five years. She is a recent graduate of the IHE's executive doctorate in higher education management at the University of Georgia.