News and Events

IHE director appointed to UGA Task Force on Student Learning and Success

February 3, 2017

IHE Director Libby Morris is one of 20 faculty members and administrators appointed to a new University of Georgia Task Force on Student Learning and Success.

The task force, co-chaired by Vice President for Instruction Rahul Shrivastav and Vice President for Student Affairs Victor Wilson, will identify new opportunities to further strengthen the university's undergraduate learning environment, President Jere Morehead announced in his annual State of the University address.

Periodically, the university has conducted such self-examinations to improve the quality of undergraduate education, including the President’s Task Force on the Quality of the Undergraduate Experience, which was convened in 1997, and the Task Force on General Education and Student Learning, assembled in 2004.

“These intensive studies have helped transform this campus into the dynamic learning environment we celebrate today,” Morehead said. “But it has been more than a decade since we last conducted a systematic evaluation of this nature, and I believe the time has come to launch the next iteration.”

Members of the working group will be charged with taking a fresh look at the university’s undergraduate learning environment to identify opportunities “to further enhance the rigorous educational experience for our students—inside and outside the classroom—and to strengthen the vital bridge between our academic programs and other student learning opportunities,” Morehead said.

The president has asked the task force to complete its work by Dec. 1, 2017.  

“I hope this task force, like those before it, will spark new ideas and inspire new approaches,” he said. “I look forward to receiving and reviewing the observations of the working group at the year’s end.”